Committed to Zero Tolerance of Child Abuse

As part of the Victorian Government’s response to the Betrayal of Trust Inquiry, a set of child safe standards has been developed. These compulsory minimum standards will assist in protecting children from all forms of abuse.

Here at WHPS, we have zero tolerance to child abuse.

We adhere to the seven standards set out by the Victorian Government as outlined below.

Standard 1: Strategies to embed an organisational culture of child safety, including through effective leadership arrangements

Standard 2: A child safe policy or statement of commitment to child safety

Standard 3: A code of conduct that establishes clear expectations for appropriate behaviour with children

Standard 4: Screening, supervision, training and other human resources practices that reduce the risk of child abuse by new and existing personnel

Standard 5: Processes for responding to and reporting suspected child abuse

Standard 6: Strategies to identify and reduce or remove risks of child abuse

Standard 7: Strategies to promote the participation and empowerment of children

In complying with the child safe standards, we must include the following principles as part of each standard:

  • promoting the cultural safety of Aboriginal children
  • promoting the cultural safety of children from culturally and/or linguistically diverse backgrounds
  • promoting the safety of children with a disability

What to look for in a child safe organisation (from the Commission for Children and Young People).

Further information can be found on the DHS website.